Skip to content

Bounty

February 7, 2011
by

I said I was going to post about food on this blog, didn’t I?  Once upon a time?  Somehow the TTC battle has taken over my entire life and even the one thing that was my greatest interest of all – food and cooking – has taken a backseat.  Well let’s step back for a moment and get back to my real passion, shall we?  It’s not making babies, contrary to what you might think.  It’s food.  Glorious food.

Remember these? Beautiful fruits and veggies.

I believe in eating local, organic, seasonal produce.  I know, I know, you’ve heard this on every food blog and in every magazine.  But it’s not as cliche as you might think.  I realize I am abnormally lucky to live in southern California, where we have fabulous produce year round.  But wherever you live, I encourage you to experiment by joining a CSA.  A CSA is community supported agriculture.  Different CSA’s work differently, but the basic idea is that you are supporting your local farmers by buying produce from them directly (or through a middle-man) on a regular basis.  They grow to count on your funds, and you grow to count on their produce.  It’s a win-win.

For me, the best part of a CSA is the challenge.  You often don’t know exactly what you’re getting until you pick it up, or they drop it off at your house if you’re lucky enough to have a delivery service.  You might get vegetables you’ve never even eaten before, let alone cooked.  It’s all a big adventure.

The picture above is the bounty I brought home this weekend from my CSA.  I had stopped participating for a few months for various reasons, but I am so glad to be back.  In case you can’t see everything, this week I got:  green onions, spinach, arugula, collard greens, green leaf lettuce, carrots, cauliflower, blood oranges, and tangelos.   Who says winter produce is boring?  Not I, my friends.  Not I.

If you happen to be in the Los Angeles area and are interested to know, the CSA I belong to is called CSA California.  It’s a little different than most, in that you are supporting as many as four or five farmers instead of just one – this leads to a good amount of variety, and enables the CSA to put together a fun assortment for their customers instead of just a big box of kale or chard  (which, much as I love both of those things, I’d like to have more than just those).

Anyway, now for the fun part.  I get to plan my week’s menu around the veggies I got.  I bought a beautiful whole (sustainably raised, organic, free range, the whole nine) chicken which I plan to roast on a bed of cauliflower, carrots, and collards.   The arugula will make a lovely simple salad on the side.  The green leaf lettuce should make us salads throughout the rest of the week.  The spinach can go into a pasta dish or a soup, not sure yet.  Green onions can go as a garnish and flavor-enhancer on just about anything.  And as for the blood oranges, they happen to be one of my favorite fruits so I don’t foresee a problem using those.  Tangelos should be easy to use up, too.

Now that I’m back on track with the CSA, picking up my beautiful produce every other week, expect to see more about food on this site.  I want to talk about creative ways to use up produce, as well as simply sharing the sheer gorgeousness that I get from them every other week.  On the weeks in between, I will still go to the farmers market as I always did.  I might go through withdrawal otherwise.

Happy eating!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

