Skip to content

Small Potatoes!

April 23, 2011
by

I grew Potatoes!  A couple of friends of ours did this in their patio planter box last year and gushed to us about how easy it was and how amazing the potatoes were. So when I had some red potatoes that were starting to sprout in the cupboard I chopped them up and threw them in the ground. Like so:

For a long time I thought maybe they were dud spuds and weren’t going to grow.  But then in February the patch suddenly looked like this:

And then, lo and behold what should I find in the soil below those plants come April?

POTATOES!

And they really ARE amazing. When I cut them up the other night for dinner, they were crisp and juicy in a way that I rarely if ever get from the grocery store. And the flavor was fresh and rich. I cubed them and tossed them with some olive oil, salt and chopped rosemary from the garden and baked them along with some chicken breasts (treated the same way with EVOO, salt and fresh rosemary) at 375F for 45 minutes. I didn’t get a picture of the actual cooking of the potatoes… or of the eating. But trust me they were extremely tasty. (side note: this is a great, easy go-to meal for us along with some steamed veggies. I can prep it in minutes, Gus can help with a lot of it (though I don’t let him touch the raw chicken), and then you just lay it out on a baking sheet or glass casserole dish and throw it in the oven. Then we go play outside for 30 minutes, come in and start the veggies and viola! dinner. I recommend.)

I grew these in my garden bed, as you can see, above. But our friends did it in a big container on their patio, so if you don’t have a yard, you don’t have to forgo this project. In fact, container gardening potatoes makes them a lot easier to find come harvest time… I might try that method next year. Just cut them up so that there’s an eye on each piece and each bit will become a new plant. Easy as that!  We had a few plants get a weird disease and die off (we called it blight). I just pulled those out and the rest did fine.

Isn’t spring a wonderful thing? Happy Easter and/or Passover!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

